DEBUG: basic
About us and our aims

About us and our aims

The European Movement has existed for over 70 years to promote European values of peace, prosperity, and international cooperation. We are the branch of the European Movement UK for the City of Leicester and the counties of Leicestershire, and Rutland. Our aim now there is a 'bare bones' Brexit deal is to highlight the mistakes made and to make the economic, security, environmental and social arguments for staying as close to the  EU as possible, with an eventual goal of re-joining a reformed EU in the future.

• We welcome all pro-Europeans regardless of their political party affiliation.

• We aim to increase our network of pro-Europeans in politics, business, academia and the general public.

• We will support initiatives which promote diversity and make EU and non-EU nationals feel welcome in our community.

* We will keep our members and the public informed.


Chair: James Lindsay

Secretary: Carolyn Thornborow 

Treasurer and Data Officer: Ian Sharpe 

Honorary President: Dr Neville Hunnings

Other executive members:

Carolyn Brown, 

Tony Faithfull Wright,

Ramsay Ross,

Kiran Solanki,

David Walker,

Carol Weaver,

Tanja Siggs,

Bert Pollheimer,

Carlos Diaz